18. July 2007

A Fraudulent UTI bank Sends email to Get your Account details

Today i got a Fraudulent email asking me to enter my bank details. Though i was not a UTI bank customer , i got this email from a customer.alert@utibank.co.in . A site www.utibank.co.in really exists and its , i think , owned by actual UTI bank which if u visit clearly states the followning.

In case you have received any e-mail from an address appearing to be sent by UTIBANK, advising you of any changes made in your personal information,account details or information on your user id and password of your netbanking facility, PLEASE DO NOT RESPOND. It is UTIBANK’s policy not to seek/send such information through email. If you have already disclosed your password please change it immediately.

but sending an email from any email ID is possible. There are many anonymous mail sending sites over the internet where u can put any email ID u want.

The email i got is below.

UTI BANK <customer.alert@utibank.co.in>   hide details 7:29 am (13 hours ago)
  to hem.acharya@gmail.com
  date   Jul 18, 2007 7:29 AM

UTIBank Logo
Dear Customer,

We noticed a strange IP address trying to access your account. We have placed a hold on your fund
and have contacted you for Security Reasons. Follow the link below to re-confirm your details and we will
contact you within 24 to 48hrs.

Important Notice – You are strictly advised to match your security details rightly to avoid service suspension.
We advice you to re-confirm your details immediately you receive this notification





Thank you for your understanding as we work together to enhance the security of your account.

UTI Bank
Customer Service.

Please update your records on or before 48 hours, a failure to update your records might result in a mismatch or login difficulty into your account.

The links above seem to be utibank’s links but when u click on those u can find the site is fake . its duplicate of UTI bank one. the whois record of that site shows the following details

Whois Record

Domain ID: REG-D32762
Domain Name: cgtcatalunya.cat
Domain Name ACE: cgtcatalunya.cat
Domain Language:
Registrar ID: R-2001 (Nominalia)
Created On: 2006-04-05 14:22:53 GMT
Last Updated On: 2007-06-26 09:14:21 GMT
Expiration Date: 2008-04-05 14:22:53 GMT
Status: ok
Tech ID: NOM_3163301
Tech Name: Ramon Acedo
Tech Organization: Comunicacio per a la Cooperacio – Pangea
Tech Street: Jordi Girona Salgado 31, Ed. PL-Pangea
Tech City: Barcelona
Tech State/Province: BARCELONA
Tech Postal Code: 08034
Tech Country: ES
Tech Phone: +34.934015664
Tech Phone Ext:
Tech Fax: +34.9999999999
Tech Fax Ext:
Tech Email: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Registrant ID: NOM_P_16412101
Registrant Name: Confederacio General del Treball de Catalunya
Registrant Organization:
Registrant Street: Via Laietana 18, 9 planta
Registrant City: Barcelona
Registrant State/Province: Barcelona
Registrant Postal Code: E-08001
Registrant Country: ES
Registrant Phone: +34.933103362
Registrant Phone Ext:
Registrant Fax:
Registrant Fax Ext:
Registrant Email: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Billing ID: NOM_3163101
Billing Name: Lorena Merino
Billing Organization: Comunicacio per a la Cooperacio – Pangea
Billing Street: Jordi Girona Salgado 31, Ed. PL-Pangea
Billing City: Barcelona
Billing State/Province: BARCELONA
Billing Postal Code: 08034
Billing Country: ES
Billing Phone: +34.934015664
Billing Phone Ext:
Billing Fax: +34.934011891
Billing Fax Ext:
Billing Email: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Admin ID: NOM_3163101
Admin Name: Lorena Merino
Admin Organization: Comunicacio per a la Cooperacio – Pangea
Admin Street: Jordi Girona Salgado 31, Ed. PL-Pangea
Admin City: Barcelona
Admin State/Province: BARCELONA
Admin Postal Code: 08034
Admin Country: ES
Admin Phone: +34.934015664
Admin Phone Ext:
Admin Fax: +34.934011891
Admin Fax Ext:
Admin Email: Whois Privacy and Spam Prevention by DomainTools.com
Name Server: pau.pangea.org
Name Server ACE: pau.pangea.org
Name Server: avant.pangea.org
Name Server ACE: avant.pangea.org


I never heard of .cat TLD and i didn’t know it exists .

About .CAT TLD

On September 16th 2006 ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) approved the .CAT domain. The .cat TLD (Top Level Domain) is established to serve the needs of the Catalan Linguistic and Cultural Community on the Internet.

The Community consists of those who use the Catalan language for their online communications, and/or promote the different aspects of Catalan culture online, and/or want to specifically address their online communications to that Community. That is, if you web is not (at least partially) in Catalan, you may still apply for a .cat domain but your web site needs to be related to the Catalan culture, language or community . more


I opened the link in Firefox and firefox gave me a warning that the site is suspected of web forgery . quite smart firefox. but i opened the same link on IE6 No such warning. This was a first cyber fraud case which asked my bank account number though i had another interesting love over the internet fraud emails which is posted here.


MyAvatars 0.2

1. University Update - YouTube - A Fraudulent UTI bank Sends email to Get your Account details From UNITED STATES (UNITED STATES) Wrote on 18. July 2007 at 9:50 pm

[…] Link to Article youtube A Fraudulent UTI bank Sends email to Get your Account details » Posted […]

MyAvatars 0.2

2. Andrea From PHILIPPINES (PHILIPPINES) Wrote on 25. July 2007 at 8:24 am

The things that people do nowadays… tsk. I hope nobody falls for this.

MyAvatars 0.2

3. s not found Wrote on 08. May 2011 at 9:08 pm

this is ridiculous. I hope people have not been caught out by this. I have had these types of emails before and sometimes my spam folder doesnt even pick it up.

Webmaster at Cellulean

MyAvatars 0.2

4. Kate From UNITED KINGDOM (UNITED KINGDOM) Wrote on 09. May 2011 at 6:52 pm

I have received a few of similar emails.
Couple was like some foreign bank is trying to release my cash and they need me to tell them my bank details and pay out some handling fee !!! What a rubbish.
I wonder what percentage of people actually fall for these scams?!

MyAvatars 0.2

5. Салон эротического массажа not found Wrote on 10. May 2011 at 7:02 pm

this article is unreal. I will dont may still apply for a .cat domain.

MyAvatars 0.2

6. Dave From CANADA (CANADA) Wrote on 06. June 2011 at 11:29 am

I can’t believe people still fall for things like these. I mean, if they wouldn’t, do you think these scams would be so popular?

MyAvatars 0.2

7. Minisite Design From AUSTRALIA (AUSTRALIA) Wrote on 08. June 2011 at 12:25 pm

Fraud everywhere just for money! My friend got the same email before and she simply delete it ’cause it’s quite obvious that it’s just a fraud. Thank you for sharing. Minisite Design

Post Comment

The following tags are permitted: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>